Book by Surgery Chief Resident: Top 10 Tips for Crushing Your Personal Statement for US Allopathic and Osteopathic Medical School Applications

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BetterTomorrow

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current chief resident in General Surgery in a NYC hospital. I graduated Magna Cum Laude with a bachelor’s degree in Microbiology from a top 40 college, in Physiology from Georgetown University, and obtained my MD degree from a top 50 medical school. As of 2020, I have 13 publications in affluent peer-reviewed journals and 6 accepted abstracts and posters for national surgical conferences.

I have personally been through the admissions process multiple times and have an insider view on admissions committees from helping evaluate candidates for medical school and residency. I will be going through the application process again in applying for surgical subspecialty fellowship.

I started my journey in editing and revising medical school applications in 2013. In medical school, based on my score, I was offered by my dean to teach the Examkrackers MCAT course. As a part of the course, I edited many personal statements that have helped students gain admission to medical school. Prior to this, I edited personal statements for college applications that helped students obtain admission to Ivy Leagues. More recently, I have been hired by many medical students for help with their ERAS residency applications. I am currently in the process of formally establishing my medical revision services as a small family-owned business.