Board Review Courses and Prosthetics and Orthotics Courses

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rehabdocmd

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
What and where are the different board review courses? Those of you who have attended, what did/did you not like about them?

Also what are the best available prosthetics and orthotics courses?

When did you start studying for the boards?

Members don't see this ad.

1) None
2) A good residency experience; again, no course
3) Too late; late May-June b4 writtens. To be honest, I felt like if I studied another three months, I may have done 10-15% better at most. Lots of odd stuff on exam.

Reactions: 1 user
I started studying late spring my PGY4 year but suspended studying as I started fellowship - then gave it 4 good weekends of studying and passed comfortably. did not take a board review course.

there is a pretty good P&O course at RIC - I think the hopkins residents and some ortho residents come to take it. It's really hardcore concentrated information but the handouts alone make it worth while. They bring in real patients to figure out what you would prescribe, then what the patient actually has to see how close you were.

This five-day, in-depth course is designed to cover the basic skills and knowledge needed to manage spinal, upper and lower limb disabilities of adults and juveniles requiring prosthetic and/or orthotic care during various stages of recovery. An extensive manual is included in the course. A format of lectures, demonstrations, and live case discussions will focus on the following:

Amputation surgery
Post-op prosthetic and therapeutic management
Components for various orthotic and prosthetic systems
Biomechanics
Pedorthic management of various foot disorders
Normal and pathological gait
Gait analysis
Orthotic and prosthetic recommendations
Tuition: $800
Section A Dates: March 30 - April 3, 2009
Section B Dates: Apil 6 - April 10, 2009