Best time to have kids?

peony

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a post-bacc premed student and my husband is a 3rd yr med student. We would like to have our first child at the very latest during my 4th yr of med school right after residency interviews, but ideally we'd like to have our second child then and our first child earlier. Taking into account that I have one more year of premed classes and a yr of applying (my husband and I will be a first yr resident and first yr med student together, respectively), when would be the ideal time to have a child?

My husband seems to think that giving birth during the break between 1st and 2nd yr would be ideal because then I'd have some school under my belt, but my 2nd yr would be much lighter than my 3rd yr. Also, does anyone know if schools are nice about letting you deccelerate to 5 yrs if you want to stay at home for a year?

BTW, we are 24 and 28, and my husband strongly wants to go into a lifestyle specialty with decent hrs. Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

My husband seems to think that giving birth during the break between 1st and 2nd yr would be ideal because then I'd have some school under my belt, but my 2nd yr would be much lighter than my 3rd yr. Also, does anyone know if schools are nice about letting you deccelerate to 5 yrs if you want to stay at home for a year?

We thought that too... we had it all planned out. Counted back weeks to determine our conception window. We had about 3 month of trying (3 very fun months :D). and nothing. So we stopped trying. 6 months later we got pregnant (woops).

Over all, preganacy/babies during school are 1000% easier than in residency.

Thanks for your feedback, sweenracer! I know what you mean about the timing thing! We're hoping I'm ultra fertile. :) Some more questions:

1) Even though it is kinda soon, would it make sense to have a child before med school so my education isn't interrrupted?