Best one-liner after you tell someone you're a pain physician?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrMDAware

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
It is Friday.

Let's have some fun.

After you tell someone you're a pain physician what's the best one-liner to follow with?

For example, "Hi, I'm MDAware and I'm a pain physician. I take the pain away and not give it."

You get the point.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I usually tell people I'm an anesthesiologist, so they don't ask me any followup questions...

Reactions: 5 users
I tell them I work in healthcare administration which is 100% truthful and boring enough not to prompt any follow-on questions.

Not trying to talk to my barber or some random stranger on the airplane about how they tweaked their back 4 years ago.

• Haha
Reactions: 6 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I usually try to hide the fact I'm a physician as long as possible in all circumstances outside the hospital/clinic.

If it's unavoidable and I want to sound impressive, I'll say I'm a fellowship-trained anesthesiologist that specializes in interventional pain treatments.

If it's unavoidable and I'm feeling snarky, I tell them I poke people until I find where it hurts the most then stab them in that spot.

Reactions: 1 users
Yes, I’ve seen Dopesick.

Reactions: 2 users
I tell them what Timothy Dalton said as James bond. Something like I am not a pain manager, I am more of a pain eliminator

When I was young, I was terrified of needles. But after decades of hard work, I am no longer young.

• Haha
Reactions: 8 users
Pain doc? Yeah it’s basically like being a back dentist.

Members don't see this ad :)
Tomato tomahto, still don’t nobody know what I do.

I had a few who read the word physiatrist too quickly and go “Thank you so much, we have so many here with mental health needs!”