Being ghosted

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anonmouse

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an upper-year resident, and recently I had a therapy patient ghost me. They told their medication management provider in the same clinic that they found therapy overwhelming and unhelpful, and it also seems they want to use this provider as a therapist instead. They did not even agree to reach out to let me know they were not coming back to therapy when this was encouraged. The worst part about this is I thought the therapy was going relatively well and had started to feel attached to the patient when they clearly did not feel the same way. I have discussed this with my therapy supervisor and my own personal therapist, but it still sucks and is making me question my connection with any of my patients and skill as a provider.
Is this a common experience in residency? And how do you maintain your motivation to learn and continue to improve, when there is so little gratification or evidence that you are helping?

Members don't see this ad.

It happens to everyone from time to time! With more experience this will sting less. The best proof of your own abilities comes from helping a large number of people over time, and seeing that you really do help people get better.

Sometimes this kind of ghosting has nothing to do with you. Maybe the patient really thought they were ready for therapy, but they just weren't. Maybe they realized they don't have time in their schedule to continue. Maybe they have a help-seeking help-rejecting pattern and opted to act on their impulse rather than explore it. Who knows?