before med-school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BABiology

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
anyone...I would like to know what kind of job yall had before yall got into med school...were yall already in health care or not?

if not....did yall have previous experience in the health field?

I have no health care experience and I want to volunteer at a hospital...and shadow some DO myself.

anyone thanks

Members don't see this ad.

anyone????

BTW...what does bump mean?????

A lot of premeds on here are EMTs and paramedics, but there are also people that are fresh out of undergrad (or still in it, like myself). You're going to need some kind of experience to apply to med school, and volunteering is a great way to start- as is shadowing. Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by BABiology
anyone...I would like to know what kind of job yall had before yall got into med school...were yall already in health care or not?

if not....did yall have previous experience in the health field?

I have no health care experience and I want to volunteer at a hospital...and shadow some DO myself.

anyone thanks

I was a research assoc. for a lab. I volunteered at the ER on the weekends. If I had to do it all over again, I would work at a clothing store :p

bump stands for "bringing up my post" or something like that.

Work the scut jobs. Draw blood, change beds, wipe butts.

If you can handle this work, and even draw meaning from it, then you can apply with confidence. You will be able to apply, knowing why you are doing it, and knowing that your experience will aid your success.