BCLS instructor: worthit or not?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emttim

Addicted to SCUBA
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I was thinking of doing the AHA Core Instructor and then AHA BCLS Instructor courses because I like teaching and I figure it'd be an excellent way to keep my CPR skills fresh and up to date. Has anyone here been a BCLS, ACLS, PALS, etc. instructor? How much of a PITA was it to start? Did you just teach classes at the place you got your instructor cert from? Any information would be appreciated, thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

All three now...I've been teaching BLS for 6 years and it is great experience if you like teaching. As for how hard it is? The core instructor class is a little annoying...the whole learning how to teach thing...yea annoying! I've also found it a little hard to get enough classes in for my recert with all of the shifts I've been picking up recently.

So in answer...if you like teaching, go for it! The instructor class isn't too bad, heck, its only a few hours! If you teach two classes a year (and seriously..that's not hard) then recerting is easy. Paperwork is a bit of a pain, but manageable..

Nate.

All three now...I've been teaching BLS for 6 years and it is great experience if you like teaching. As for how hard it is? The core instructor class is a little annoying...the whole learning how to teach thing...yea annoying! I've also found it a little hard to get enough classes in for my recert with all of the shifts I've been picking up recently.

So in answer...if you like teaching, go for it! The instructor class isn't too bad, heck, its only a few hours! If you teach two classes a year (and seriously..that's not hard) then recerting is easy. Paperwork is a bit of a pain, but manageable..

Nate.