"Awkward with patients"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nerdoscience

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I'm an intern now, and I'm pretty comfortable with my H+P taking skills, and love talking with (most) patients. But I really clam up in front of my attendings and even my residents and fellows. I had this problem big time in med school, and am kind of forcing my way through it, but I really thought I would "Figure it out" eventually.

The result is that I have patients telling my attendings that I am the best (medical student/intern) they have ever had, but also getting evaluations that say my communication or personal skills are lacking.

Anyone else in that boat, and any advice?

Members don't see this ad.

Nerdoscience said:
So, I'm an intern now, and I'm pretty comfortable with my H+P taking skills, and love talking with (most) patients. But I really clam up in front of my attendings and even my residents and fellows. I had this problem big time in med school, and am kind of forcing my way through it, but I really thought I would "Figure it out" eventually.

The result is that I have patients telling my attendings that I am the best (medical student/intern) they have ever had, but also getting evaluations that say my communication or personal skills are lacking.

Anyone else in that boat, and any advice?

I had that problem in med school. I was comfortable one on one with patients but hated being put on the spot on rounds. With more experience will come confidence and then this won't be an issue anymore. In any case, you have good people schools with the people that really matter - the patients.

I have not had that problem, although admittedly my mind goes blank when I am pimped, or put on the spot.

Being at ease in many different situations requires practice and occasionally a bit of Propranolol. ;)