away rotations sites

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hot sauce

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year medical student at a medical school with a home program (not a top tier school) trying to decide where to apply for away rotations. As I understand it, the primary of goals of away rotations are to get a good LOR and perhaps get your foot in the door at a program. So do I apply for top tier programs and places with big names? But will I even work with the big name person if I choose a spot hoping to get a LOR from the big shot? Furthermore, I don't know where I'd like to match. Obviously I will do a rotation at my home program but I'd like to do 1-2 away rotations.

Basically I feel a little lost on how to choose - feels like a blind date. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
So do I apply for top tier programs and places with big names?

The commonly given advice is to rotate at one top-tier program where you might not otherwise have been looked at, and try to get a letter from a big name there (PD or Chair, preferably) and one more "in your range." I wouldn't do any more than 2 and I met quite a few people on the trail who didn't do any aways.

But will I even work with the big name person if I choose a spot hoping to get a LOR from the big shot?.

Usually that can be worked out so long as they aren't on a conference or something. Make sure to express your desire to work with a specific attending early and often to their secretary and/or the course coordinator.

Furthermore, I don't know where I'd like to match. Obviously I will do a rotation at my home program but I'd like to do 1-2 away rotations.

Think about what you would like in a program, such as location, size, research, technology (although some disagree with this). It's a very personal decision as you can see from the anonymous rank lists.