Average student?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rollo

Renowned Wolf
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey folks

M2 here. I'm very interested in ENT since I fell in love with head and neck anatomy last year. And the more I explore the field, the more interesting I find it. We're supposed to have ENT lectures sometime later this year (our school is systems-based). And we get roughly 6 months of elective time during M3/M4 years.

I've looked at the NRMP data and have read around this forum and discovered that ENT is a very competitive field. I'm an average student, I've mostly ended up with mid-high Bs in the first year.

My concern aren't the grades from the first 2 years. Mostly, my concern is how well I'll be able to do on the boards.

Is it realistic to expect an average student like myself to do above average on boards? I'm aiming for 240+.

Thanks folks.

Members don't see this ad.

Is it realistic to expect an average student like myself to do above average on boards? I'm aiming for 240+.

Assuming the effort is the same, no. It's certainly possible, but not realistic.

Assuming the effort is the same, no. It's certainly possible, but not realistic.

Besides putting more effort, what else do you think could help me get better grades this year AND above average board score?

Members don't see this ad :)