Atlanta mass shooter's family blames his actions on psychiatrists' refusal to rx benzos.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PsyDr

Psychologist
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

• Okay...
  • Sad
Reactions: 2 users
I can't judge the mom. Her trauma is immense and she's just grasping trying to understand. I just really wish the news would maybe not focus on this...

Reactions: 9 users
His nurse mom is correct. If you put enough Ativan into someone's system, they'll be sleeping rather than shooting.

• Haha
Reactions: 7 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I get where she's coming from, but saying "I'm a nurse they should have done this" really misses the mark by miles and tracks well.

Reactions: 18 users
<Not a doctor or medical student>

Reading between the lines, he was on the Ativan, then off of it and some other med put in place as a replacement (the one referenced as started on Friday), and he wanted to go back on the Ativan?

That's just parsing the very limited data in the article.

The VA guidelines are incredibly rapid with regard to benzo withdrawal compared to the NICE guidelines, for example, and specifically don't mention patient autonomy which the Ashton Manual on which the NICE guidelines were largely based mention as paramount. I don't think you could rule out homicide/suicide as an effect of withdrawal. People can go into frank psychosis from withdrawal. I recently came across safetaper.com —california based outfit for de-prescribing in a more informed way based on a modified Ashton approach. I was not impressed with the VA's guidelines when I read them.