Atheism in Medical School and the Practice of Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AnonymousMed

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm an incoming MS1 student and very excited to begin medical school in a few weeks. I was browsing through my school's "student clubs" that are offered, and I noticed that there are multiple religion-based groups (Christian, Mormon, Jewish, Muslim) whose primary aim it is to discus the practice of medicine through the scope of their religious and spiritual beliefs.

As an atheist, this got me thinking about how my lack of belief in the claims of religion may affect my medical career, and it also got me wondering whether or not a forum or group for secular medical students would serve a worthwhile purpose (unfortunately, there are no "secular" or "humanist" clubs at my school).

I know religion can be a touchy subject for some people, but I was hoping to get some insight from fellow medical students on the issue of being an atheist medical student:

1) First of all, I'm curious if any of your schools have any sort of secular student clubs that discuss issues of medicine/patient interaction through a secular lens? If so what are their goals/purpose?

2) In your experiences, is atheism/agnosticism common among medical students?

3) Most importantly, I'd like to have a discussion on this thread about atheism and medicine. Let's say, hypothetically speaking, if I were to start a "Secular Medical Student" group, what sort of ideas would be good starting points for interesting discussion?

To get the ball rolling...