Aspiring doctor from Australia wanting to work in the UK...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lunasupernova

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently doing a Bachelor of Biomedical Science and I plan on going onto post-grad medicine. I intend on moving to the UK at some point (to live there permanently) but I am unsure as to *when* I should do this. I am an Australian and EU citizen (Irish) but have lived in Australia my whole life.

1. Move to the UK after I complete my Bachelor degree. I can't afford to pay for med school as an international student, so I guess I'd have to wait 3 years and then apply, but this isn't really ideal... It means that I probably won't graduate from med until I'm 30 and then there's the residency...
2. Complete med school here, and possibly do my residency in the UK. Is this possible? This option sounds good to me but I'm not sure how realistic this is.

I don't want to have to complete both med school and residency training here in Australia because then I'd have to repeat my residency in the UK and it would just be a big waste of time. What is the best option for me?

Members don't see this ad.

Also, it might be useful to know that I plan on specializing in Emergency Medicine, or that would be my first preference anyway. I know it's quite a bit early to be thinking about that but that is the area I am most interested in.

I'm not 100% sure if you can do #2. Its very likely possible to switch into the UK system after med school, I just don't know whether it will be right after med school into UK foundation years or right after internship into UK Speciality training.

Whatever it is, doing med school in Australia is likely the cheaper option and the one you should take.

Members don't see this ad :)