Army Special Forces -- Enlistment options?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FamMed and More

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a Family Medicine Resident and have a question. After residency I want to join the Army Special Forces as a active 18D ODA medic, not just Battalion Surgeon.

My question is whether it is a better idea to go through OCS as a Direct Commission to get through basic training and then resign my commission, or to rather instead straight enlist through the 18X program and get through Basic/AIT that way?

Before someone brings it up, I thoroughly understand the PT, incredible hard work, and motivation involved and have been researching and training for this for some time. And please no responses about the stupidity/craziness/absurdity of this decision, I get enough of that from my friends, family, and colleagues.

Thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.

Not an SF guy myself so grain of salt may be in order. However, I've seen the end result of medical folks who go the first route you mention. I wouldn't give most of them a high chance of getting through the SFQC. I would tend to think that going the 18X path would better prepare you.

Someone else may have a different/informed opinion.

You don't want to hear it but your family is right. It's great that you want to serve. You could make a real difference as an FP in the Army and you might be able to get into the SF side of things.

Now, on to this craziness, if you go to OCS and try to game the system by subsequently resigning your commission...why in the world do you think they will make you happy by letting you anywhere near a SF unit? In the Navy, you'd be chipping paint as an undesignated seaman. I imagine the Army could do worse.