Applying to Dental School - 3rd timer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

virajpatel

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

As you can tell by the title of the thread I will be applying for the 3rd time to dental school, and am hoping the expression "third times the charm" really applies here. Anyways, I would like to know what some of you who are either already in dental school or are accepted to start Fall 2016, have done in terms of getting the application in on time to give yourself the competitive advantage.

A little background about myself, I am doing my Master's in Basic Medical Sciences at Wayne State University at present. I also received my undergraduate degree here but with a low 2.8 GPA. Since graduating in Summer 2014, I have enrolled in 10 credits of Post-Bacc spread out between the Fall 2014 (6) and Winter 2015 (4) semesters. Unfortunately, I was plagued with a severe back injury that winter so I was only able to take one class, which my parents had to wheelchair me to. Long story short, I am well now and started my masters last Fall 2015. I took Biochemistry, Molecular Cell bio and Physiology 1 my first semester and received A's. This semester I am taking Pharmacology and Physiology 2 and hoping to repeat that. I will have completed 20 credits in the program by the May. I intend on sending the application as soon as it opens. Are there any tips and things I can do to have stuff ready once the app opens so I can submit it right away?

I also I have DAT of 22 AA. So along with some tips on the application cycle I would greatly appreciate feedback on my chances?