Applying for a residency later

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CHRXCO2010

PharmD Student c/o 2010
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 6th year pharmacy student who will be graduating in May 2010. Of course I will be in quite a bit of debt when I graduate. I really want to apply for a residency but I know the loans and payments is something that will really be putting pressure on me.

I was thinking about practicing in the retail setting temporarily when I get out. During which I would apply for the residency in the fall of 2010 and start July 2011 (assuming I get accepted). I thought this might be a good idea in order to eliminate as much debt as possible for one year and save some money for the time I will be making that "low" resident salary for a year.

My questions are as follows...

1. Is it required you apply for a residency your last year and start as soon as you graduate/ Do residencies only accept new graduates?
OR
2. Are you able to practice for a year then apply for the residency that fall?
3. Do you think such a scenario would work against you when applying for the residency a year later?

If anyone can give me their input OR has heard of anyone doing this same scenario?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a 6th year pharmacy student who will be graduating in May 2010. Of course I will be in quite a bit of debt when I graduate. I really want to apply for a residency but I know the loans and payments is something that will really be putting pressure on me.

I was thinking about practicing in the retail setting temporarily when I get out. During which I would apply for the residency in the fall of 2010 and start July 2011 (assuming I get accepted). I thought this might be a good idea in order to eliminate as much debt as possible for one year and save some money for the time I will be making that "low" resident salary for a year.

My questions are as follows...