Re-applying to residency programs question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LM10

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I graduated from pharmacy school in May 2018. I applied to 11 programs and did not get an interview. I'm working in a retail pharmacy in the meantime. I'm thinking of applying again for next year.
What are the chances of matching with a residency program in my case?
Are there any tips I need to do to increase my chances of matching with a residency program at this point? I really appreciate your answers.
Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Pretty sure the stats show lower match numbers for people who have graduated and are 1+ year out. That’s not to say it’s impossible. I know someone who left retail after 6 years to do residency and matched.

You say you applied to 11 programs and didn’t match. I’d revisit your strategy for program selection and take a cold hard look at your application material like your personal statement.

Reactions: 1 user
Pretty sure the stats show lower match numbers for people who have graduated and are 1+ year out. That’s not to say it’s impossible. I know someone who left retail after 6 years to do residency and matched.

You say you applied to 11 programs and didn’t match. I’d revisit your strategy for program selection and take a cold hard look at your application material like your personal statement.
Thanks for your response. Do you think it is important to go to mid year in my case?

Members don't see this ad :)