Apply DO and MD at same school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted9493

I'm interested in applying to both MD and DO schools, each for various reasons. My question is: If I apply to Michigan State, which has both MD and DO programs, will I be frowned upon? Are the committees generally purists when it comes to the type of degree? (ex. DO or nothing....MD or nothing) I appreciate any feedback you all might have. Thanks.
Oh yeah, and I'm a Michigan resident (I'm not crazy!).

Members don't see this ad.

I applied to both programs at MSU and I am not even a Michigan resident. I am not sure how much it actually matters, but my advice would be to, obviously, have a good reason as to why you want to be a doctor, but when it comes to the DO program, know your stuff (understand the DO philosophy and be able to explain why you would be a good osteopath specifically). From my experience, if the subject comes up as to why you applied to both programs, they are pretty understanding. They know they are not the only school you applied to and they also understand that you have to keep your options open. Being a Michigan resident, it seems it would be easy to explain as to why you applied to both; you live there and would like to stay there (I am just speculating here). Just be honest and I don't think it will really make a huge difference. Of course I don't have any inside source to confirm this.......just my own opinion.

hudsontc,

Like kat13, I also have no inside information, but i doubt that applyinng to both programs "will I be frowned uponwill I be frowned upon." In fact, I can think of one person off the top of my head that will be interviewing at both MSUCOM and MSUCHM.

Just win the lottery and apply to all the allopathic progams, all the osteopathic programs, ans all the carribbean programs and you should get at least one secondary. ;)

Brian Enriquez
[email protected]