Aortic value replacement: choosing a program/surgeon edition

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neurofan22

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hope this is an okay topic to post about. I'm a physician in another specialty and am trying to help a loved one choose a program for undergoing what will likely be an aortic valve replacement (cardiologist says repair won't be possible, but she'd be open to it if the surgeon feels it is). This is a relatively young woman w/ congenital heart dz s/p an initial surgery as a toddler, now with expected progression of both aortic valve regurgitation and stenosis requiring reoperation. The two centers I'd most like to hear about are Stanford and UCLA, but I'd love any and all recommendations. We checked out the STS database but very small differences in those ratings are hard to interpret. Any insider information would be much appreciated. Not trying to start a war over which is "the best" program but hoping for more nuanced thoughts, perhaps comparing pros and cons. Or reassurance that all the top programs are essentially equal in quality, if that's the case!

Members don't see this ad.

Just curious why you feel they need to go off to Stanford or UCLA? This is a sort of surgery that she would likely see a congenital cardiac surgeon for treatment. Just about any major academic center should have one that is fully capable of the procedure.

ThoracicGuy, thanks so much for your reply.

I'm not assuming that it's necessary to check out multiple programs or travel, but some people who have limited knowledge of the surgical side of this have recommended checking out multiple programs, and I don't have the expertise to assess that advice. I've also heard (again, not assuming this is true) that surgeons who've have extensive experience doing an aortic valve repair in this type of case may be rarer.