Any TX DVM's out there that participated in TX Academic Fresh Start Program?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AggieRVT

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I realize this is a pre-vet topic (I posted it on that forum as well), but I would love to hear from a DVM that was accepted to vet school after participating in the TX academic fresh start program. I've been searching the old threads and cannot find many personal experiences about the program, aside from a pre-dent & pre-med from '04 & '05.

I am strongly considering this option due to my previous academic performance. I graduated with a bs in animal science from Texas A&M in 1999 w/a 2.29 GPA. Although my GPA did not reflect it, my intentions were to go to vet school. I didn't bother applying. I seriously considered SGU vet school in Grenada (they were still brand new then), but realized the financial burden that I would have after graduation. I went to a vet tech school instead to become a registered vet tech.
After working in the field for the past 8 years, I truly love what I do. However, there is a piece of me (big chunk actually) that still wants to be the doctor, not just the tech. 10 years after graduation I am much more mature, focused and confident, I know I can do anything once I set my mind to it.

So this leaves me with a few options:
1) Take a year of upper level science courses to prove to the admissions committee at SGU that I can do the work (their advice), accept the $117K for tuition (not including books, living expences, etc), possibly lose a really great boyfriend in the process, be about $250K in debt upon graduation w/a hopeful salary of $80-100K/yr.

2) Retake all science classes below B avg, but may only bring up GPA to barely above a 3.0 if I made all A's in 70 or so hours, still not acceptible for vet school.