Any Suggestions~?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MoonShiNe

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
This is my first time applying to medical schools, but I have a bad feeling that I might not get in anywhere because of my bad verbal score on MCAT..
So.. I am planning to get a part-time job just incase I need to re-take the MCAT..
Can anyone recommend some part-time jobs that medical schools like to see?
I've been working as a physician's assistant at a clinic, but I'd like to do something new now.. I was hoping to get a job at a laboratory, but most of them hire full-time employees..
I guess it's limited since we have to get a medical/health related jobs, but
what kind of works(FT/PT/voluteer) did you re-applicants do to improve your applications?

Members don't see this ad.

I currently work full time in something completely non-related to health because of the pay and I really needed a full time gig to get the health benefits. The good thing is that because I don't have to worry about health insurance or paying bills, I can concentrate on boosting my ec's like volunteer work and such. If you have a family it would be hard to juggle this.

I think you could probably relate a lot of different kinds of jobs to your future career in medicine.

For instance, I worked in research and gained experience working in science. However, one of my interviewers wondered why I would want to go into medicine given the fact that I had SO MUCH research experience (guess he didn't look at all my other people-focused activities or read my letters of rec, since I really had to learn to tolerate benchwork!). He asked me if I had gained any clinical experience from my job.