Any PT's who started out as a PTA or PTA's thinking of becoming a PT??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jay310

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am planning to apply for a PTA program at a cc and I was wondering if there are any PT's here who started out as a PTA or PTA's thinking of becoming a PT. The reason why I am asking is because I wanted to know how that went. I know there are only 2 bridge schools in the US and it is basically like starting from scratch. For the PT's, did you go to a bridge school or a basic PT school? PTA's, what are your plans?

I graduated with a BS, BUT (keyword), I do not have the grades to get into a PT school and I just cant get in. I will have to take numerous amount of classes to reach the minimum requirements of many PT schools and that is still no guarantee I will get in. So, if I get an associates as a PTA, I can hopefully get a 3.0+ gpa and work as a PTA. This way, I can gain experience and save some money for PT school. Plus, some PT schools require students to have at least a 3.0 gpa in their last 60 credits and I can apply that from my PTA classes, as well as, additional classes that I need to meet the pre-reqs.

So, I just wanna know PT's and PTA's opinions on their journey of becoming a PT. Also, I want to know if my plans are reasonable.
Any comments are very much appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

thanks hopein,
but i was wondering why u got a MS in kins...were you planning to head into another path in your career?

Members don't see this ad :)
There are actually a few reasons for the MS:

-My BS is in Kines, and I still have an interest in it. It also helped me immensely as a clinician as far as advanced knowledge of musculoskeletal problems, special tests, and corrective exercise (certification)