Any medics to MD out there?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KD1655

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So here is the deal...I have three semester left until I finish my biomedical engineering degree and hopefully matriculate into medical school. I consider myself a rather strong candidate for a state school (3.83 overall GPA, 4.0 Major GPA, no MCAT yet, EMS/ fire experience, admission into several national honor societies and Honors college at my school, research experience)...correct me if I'm wrong. I was strongly considering going to paramedic school during my last semester of college and during the next semester after I graduate. I have been an EMT for almost four years (four years volunteer 911 experience, two years paid 911 experience) and EMS is something that I really love, which is the reason that I want to be a medic. If I went the paramedic school route, I would likely have to take another year between finishing undergrad and starting medical school because it is an 18 month course of study here in NJ with clinicals. Is it worth it? Will medical school come easier to me if I go to medic school first (one of the MD/PhD students that I am currently working with seems to think so)? If my ultimate career goal (at this point) is to complete an EM residency and then an EMS fellowship and become a medical director of a large EMS service, would experience as a medic help me that much more as compared to experience as an EMT? Any advice that anybody could provide would be very appreciated, thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Oh yeah, and I forgot to mention, I was also flirting with the idea of going into the Marine Corps prior to medical school. Please chime in on that too I know, I'm terribly indecisive....about the only thing that I really know that I want to do is go to medical school but I feel like there is alot that I want to do with my life before that