Any advice for an ICU rotation???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

esfh

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have my first ICU rotation coming up in August. Any advice from people who have been through it? I have never had an ICU rotation so I feel as though I don't know anything! Do interns end up calling their senior for almost everything at the beginning?
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

"The ICU Book" is supposed to be good. Im a medical student, but did ICU last month. The interns worked with the residents mostly, ICU patients are hard to handle, even for 2-3rd yr residents.

Im not sure how it will work at your place.
Be ready for lots of procedures!

pH/pCO2/PO2/%O2

left side is ventilation (pH/pCO2), right side is oxygenation

to affect left side of eqn, change respiratory rate first, then tidal volume

right side is affected by % FIO2

Important Vent Settings:
Mode: AC
RR: varies, b/n 10-20's
Tidal Volume: 400-600 (usually; bigger people higher volumes)
%FIO2: everyone starts on 100%, then adjust vaules based on first ABG after intubation.

AG= Na- (CL+HCO3)
Winter's Formula (for metabolic acidosis to see if mixed disorder)= 1.5HCO3 + 8= expected pCO2

That's a good start for ICU.