American Undergrad > Canadian Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Final Testimony

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
At the moment I reside in the U.S., and I am an undergrad student at a four-year university on the Medical School track. I've never been to Canada before but I've always wanted to go, and I relish the possibility of moving to Canada and studying abroad at one of Canada's many great Medical Schools. Taking into account the long, obligatory immigration process, what steps would I need to take for the admissions process in Canada (as compared to the same process in America)?

Moreover, would my cost of tuition be equivalent to that of Canadian residents, and if not, how much more do you suppose? I'm interested in saving myself from as much Medical School debt as possible - a real nightmare in the States.

And finally, do you suppose I'd be able to work in the U.S. as a Canadian doctor? Or would I need additional education in the U.S. before being granted a license to practice?

Members don't see this ad.

Canadian medical schools don't generally accept non-Canadian citizens or permanent residents into medical schools.. except perhaps 1 or 2 spots at the university of toronto and maybe also at McGill .. the process is extremely competitve.. I think you might as well move to Texas and become a resident and you won't pay as much or it will be comparable to Canadian tuition

you can try to apply, but its much harder..

Members don't see this ad :)
Canadian med schools are extremely competitive. You are better off going to med school, and if you really want to live in Canada then move after you are completely trained.