all things gyn/onc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

confuzzled2019

Reaction score
Hello,

I am a 4th year medical student who recently decided to take a year off to do some research. I am still pretty confuzzled (as you can see by my username) about what I want to do. I have always wanted to go into OB/GYN but the discouragement throughout medical school from various parties got me thinking and veering away from it. I know everyone says "you shouldn't care what people think", but the reality is, sometimes its hard to shut out all of the opinions. Recently I have gotten some clarity however and think that gyn onc might be a good fit for me. However, I have very limited experience with the field as we only had 1 measly week of it during my OB rotation. So I'm here asking and gyn/onc attendings or fellows about the field.

1) what does your typical week look like?
2) are you managing your patients chemotherapy or are medical oncologists taking that over?
3) what are the surgeries you are performing most often?/what are the bread and butter cases of this subspecialty?
4) what is your lifestyle like? do you feel that you have balance with work and your personal life? (this is post ob/gyn residency)? do you work on weekends?
5) this is sort of a vague question but, considering the aggressive nature of many of the gynecologic malignancies, how do you deal, emotionally, with the prospect of not being able to cure patients of their cancer? and if I am completely mistaken about this...are you finding that many of your patients are having good outcomes? essentially, how sad is the field and are you able to stay emotionally resilient while dealing with some very heavy end of life care situations
6) do you take call?
7) would you choose this field again, why or why not?
8) what do you see the future of this field becoming and why do you think that is the case?