Age requirements to be a EMT-B

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Near

Kung Fu Senior Member
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been looking online on for EMT-B requirements specifically related to age, but I haven't been able to find any for my state (Florida).

I have a High School diploma, but the problem is I won't be turning 17 for another year.

Right now I'm not sure I would be able to get into an EMT program because of my age, but I haven't found anything that says contrary so far.

Anyone care to shed any insights? I appreciate it. :thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.

I've been looking online on for EMT-B requirements specifically related to age, but I haven't been able to find any for my state (Florida).

I have a High School diploma, but the problem is I won't be turning 17 for another year.

Right now I'm not sure I would be able to get into an EMT program because of my age, but I haven't found anything that says contrary so far.

Anyone care to shed any insights? I appreciate it. :thumbup:

18 to gain certification (though you may be able to take the class now). Though if you look in this forum there is a thread discussing the problem with becoming an EMT prior to being 21. Often times employers can't allow you to drive, which limits severely what you can do in terms of a job.

It really varies on state.. When I got my EMT in FL we didnt have nation Reg yet, I was 16 when I got my EMT-Basic, adn then through an early enrollment program I finished medic school at 17 and took my Medic exam one week before my 18th birthday.. I have heard of other states that allow you obtain certification before the age of 18. However getting a job will be tough.

Members don't see this ad :)
18 for most states now from my understanding, definitely in CO. 21 for becoming a Paramedic or EMT-Intermediate due to the advanced responsibilities involved.