Advice!!!!!!!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Phat_Doc69

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
i'm studying medicine in a 6 year program in eastern europe. DOES NOT TEACH FOR THE USMLE!! i am weighing out the options of taking the USMLE step 1 after my 4th year, after i take pharmacology (last basic science). OR, i'll just take it when i graduate and return to the US and study for it together with the kaplan course.

i'm more into taking it after my 4th year because i can do some summer rotations in the US. where its required to atleast pass step 1 before given any contact with patients. it'll look good for my resume when applying for residency.

BUT, i want to eventually land a residency in general surgery and i don't want to take the chance of rushing to take it (step 1) and getting a bad score, or even worse failing it. when i can graduate and take my time studying for it (step 1) and having a chance at getting a good score. BUT THEN, i won't have any experience in the US.

when it comes down to it which is more important for the PDs? very good step 1 (90-99) with NO US experience, OR sub-par step 1 (80-89) with US experience?

any advice is really appreciated. thanks. :cool:

Members don't see this ad.

Phat_Doc69 said:
i'm studying medicine in a 6 year program in eastern europe. DOES NOT TEACH FOR THE USMLE!! i am weighing out the options of taking the USMLE step 1 after my 4th year, after i take pharmacology (last basic science). OR, i'll just take it when i graduate and return to the US and study for it together with the kaplan course.

i'm more into taking it after my 4th year because i can do some summer rotations in the US. where its required to atleast pass step 1 before given any contact with patients. it'll look good for my resume when applying for residency.