Advice: Starting from the beginning.

jplloyddd

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am 26 years old and am going to pursue a path of medicine. I graduated High school in 2005 and have had little schooling since then, (ARC, Heald, etc), but have mainly worked since I was 18. Practicing medicine has always been a dream of mine, but never thought I had what was required to do so. I now understand, (and am whiling), to dedicate the next 13 or more years to this cause.

I volunteer at a local Hospital in Yolo County, CA and for a fire department, (Capay Valley.) I finished EMT-B school back in March and have my state license. I start a CNA school on Aug 17 to try and get more exposure to patient care. I am simply looking for advice.

The problem I am having is that I am not sure what would be best for me to major in for my undergraduate studies. I have considered pursuing a BSN degree, but from what I have researched there is not much of a strong science background in that particular major that would benefit me in medical school. I have also considered applying for an AS degree in Nursing to test for the NCLEX-RN. Then pick an undergraduate degree in something science related. This way I can gain experience working in a hospital, understanding the dynamics of healthcare, and working with Dr’s to hopefully gain some knowledge. I am going to do whatever it takes to achieve my goals, but not very sure what to focus on at this very moment at community college.

• Would having a nursing background hinder my ability to ultimately become an Anesthesiologist, or is focusing on my Overall GPA, Science GPA, and MCAT really what I need to concern myself with?

• Is there another job I could pursue while working on school that might benefit me more than being a RN, (Scribe, MT, LVN, etc.)