Starting Highschool, graduating early?

Smalltowngorl

Reaction score
Hey so I’m a freshman. Yes I know very early to be thinking about this kinda stuff. I want to graduate early so I can take premed and college at the same time and then go to medical school right after. The problem is, if I don’t keep my GPA up all the way until to the end of junior year (which is when I’d graduate) while taking AP courses and getting my fine arts in, then getting into a college/premed school will be difficult. I want to experience Highschool but all this talk about graduating, GPA and SCHOLARSHIPS, (oh lord don’t get me started on those) is making me really stressed. Also I heard the admissions committee doesn’t like when college courses are taken during Highschool because it’s basically just “advanced classes” at Highschool level. So how would it look on my application if I graduate early?

Members don't see this ad.

While it is tempting to graduate early, my advice is to enjoy your time in high school.

Reactions: 1 users
premed and college at the same time
These are one and the same.

all this talk about graduating, GPA and SCHOLARSHIPS, (oh lord don’t get me started on those) is making me really stressed
You must stop thinking about this stuff. Starting high school is fun, exciting, and stressful all at the same time and you don't need to complicate it further by thinking about scholarships at 14 years old (approx). Work hard in the classes you have and try to have some fun along the way. You are going to burn out if you keep this up.

Also I heard the admissions committee doesn’t like when college courses are taken during Highschool because it’s basically just “advanced classes” at Highschool level.