Advice on reapplying for MD/PhD or matriculating to MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Barbara4

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi pals, I have a feeling you've probably heard a version of my question before, but I couldn't find previous threads that addressed this so here it goes:

As an undergrad, I struggled to decide if I wanted to go MD or MD/PhD, I enjoyed research but I wasn't confident that I liked it enough for an extra 4+ years of med school. After working as a research technician in a basic science lab for about a year, I've become more confident in my career goal to be a clinician and a translational researcher, where I would benefit from having an MD/PhD.
However, because I'm a doofus, I applied to medical school this year, and have already been accepted to an MD program.

Would it be better to take next year off and apply MD/PhD OR is it possible to transfer into an MSTP program OR forget trying to get the PhD and try to make it as an MD researcher?

In case this helps, I worked as an undergraduate researcher for three years with a number of research fellowships, poster presentations, and research talks. I will present a poster at a national meeting this spring on my work done while I was working as a technician, and I will be on at least one publication by the end of spring.

Members don't see this ad.

Do you want to one day run your own lab and are you comfortable devoting up to 80% of your time to research? That is the expectation of most MD/PhDs. It is certainly possible to be a physician scientist without the PhD and depending upon how much of your time you want to devote to research, remaining a pure MD might even be a better fit for you.