Advice on Reapplication, Doing MD now, was MSTP applicant before

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Shmo

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDNers,

Background:
I've decided to apply MD this cycle, was MSTP in the past. Was waitlisted for WUSTL, Baylor, URochester, Emory, and UIC, but didn't get in previous cycle. I'm a little relieved though because I finished a masters during that application cycle and didn't see myself doing academia with current economic strain on funding.

1. So the question I wanted to ask is this: should I retake the new MCAT 2015? I got a 33 my first time around and felt like I should update the score for the new MCAT. I'm currently signed up to take it in May, but was debating on signing up for a later date for June. The reason I ask is because I started studying pretty late (started in March) and have forgotten most of content, and I have to learn Psych/Socio since I never took. For sciences such as physics, gen chem, and orgo, I can breeze by pretty confidently, but will need to relearn a lot of physio/ biochem/ and some cell bio.

2. How will this affect my application? So if I take MCAT in June, will this delay secondaries and all subsequent actions? Since they will see my old MCAT score, how will this affect application in general? I was still thinking of submitting my application on the first day of opening, so will the new score be present when I submit secondaries?

3. In all honesty after the rejection from the first cycle, I'm not sure what schools I have a chance at this time around, so maybe if I can get a reference for what school's I can apply to as well

Stats:
School: top 10 engineering school, masters in eng
Research - 5 years, REU at MIT, WUSTL med
Volunteering - ~around 200 hours?
Shadowing ~ around 30 hours
GPA - 3.94 in engineering, I think science GPA was 3.99
MCAT - 33 old one