advice on quitting associateship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smilin'1216

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I need some advice on how to go about leaving my current associate position. I know I need to just provide written notice and move on with my life but its something that I'm scared ****less about even though I know it needs to be done. It's my first job. I have been working there since graduation (2 yrs). The main reason I chose was the location and mentorship opportunity (i wanted to do a GPR but didn't get in). The contract is crap, and it's honestly my own fault for signing but I was panicking after graduation. I have truly learned a lot in digital dentistry, and most of all I have built up my communication skills, but tbh I feel like I've lost some basic skills. Everything is done exactly how the owner doc wants, he wants everything to be extremely streamlined and consistent. So materials and methods are his way, not at all how I learned in dental school and there's no room for input or changes if i were to suggest them. I do a lot of fillings, CEREC onlays, crown and bridge, a limited amount of anterior and premolar endo, minimal extractions, and not a ton of dentures. We have had a ton of turnover lately, and possibly even more crucial employees are leaving soon. It is a very toxic environment. I have personally had no issues but have witnessed some serious drama between boss and employees. On top of all of that, my schedule has never been extremely full. I don't run 2 chairs and I'm a little scared at a new position i'm going to be hit with reality and be too slow or overwhelmed. So on top of my compensation being low, I am not busy enough, therefore not making enough money, and with my unreal amount of out-of-state student loans, this isn't working.