Advice on path I should take..(Masters, Vet tech, Veterinarian)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

3ll3n

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Currently I am completing my final semester of my BSc Biology. My average is not great (around 80%) and I have no experience in a vet clinic yet since I only recently decided on the veterinary route. After I graduate this spring I have two options: a) Complete my masters with my previous honours project supervisor (study is on ionocytes, will take 2yrs) and then apply to vet school or b) Become a registered vet tech (takes 2yrs) and work for a few years, then perhaps apply to vet school afterwards. I'm moreso leaning towards the second option because I am a bit tired of the university scene right now and I feel this masters will be useless if I don't get into vet school soon afterwards. Becoming a vet tech will allow me to both earn some money to pay off my loans and do something I'm sure I will love, while also giving me experience in a veterinary clinic and allowing me to see if becoming a vet is really what I want to do. However, the salary of a vet tech is rather low so that kind of sucks and makes me uneasy if a vet tech is something I will end up being forever. Thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

Since you say that it is very recently you decided on the veterinary route, I'm assuming you haven't shadowed yet? I would make up a shadowing resume and cover letter, and drop them off at clinics near you to see if they will let you shadow there. Even one day of shadowing will give you a glimpse into the day to day life of a veterinarian, and would help in your decision I bet.

What is your reason for wanting to do the master degree? Are you trying to raise your gpa?

I'm not sure your financial situation, but you will most likely have to take out loans to be able to pay for vet tech schooling, therefore, will be adding to your loans before you start repayment.