[advice needed] Starting an OMFS Student Organization

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

maerick4

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everybody,

I'm currently a second year dental student, pursuing an OMFS residency post-graduation. There is currently no OMFS organization at my school and myself and a fellow student are in the works of creating our own organization.

For anybody that is currently on an exec. board or member of a OMFS organization at their own dental school;
  • what sort of events does your club hold?
  • what kind of speakers do you reach out to?
  • what does a typical general body meeting consist of?
  • do you reach out to the general population of your class or only to those pursing a residency?
  • how do you stand out?
  • do you have advice on being a successful organization?
Any other general advice for starting a student organization like this would be a huge help. We know that this will require a lot of work and are willing to devote our time. We want to make sure that our club is successful and our members find it worth their time.

We also would like to make this organization open to students not interested in specializing in oral surgery, and want to appeal to these type of students to. For those of you;
  • what kind of events would you be interested in seeing?
  • would you still be interested in learning about the surgical aspects of dentistry even if you're not specializing?

Any comments, criticism, and comments would be really appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Suturing labs where residents teach dental students how to hand tie or do running sutures etc on chicken/banana/cloth.
Learning how to scrub into an OR.
Resident info session about OMFS in general for people who might be interested
D4 applicants who got in can go over how to prepare for application cycle and interview
Maybe mock interview with attendings
IV insertion lab