Advice for shaky surgeon wannabe

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Goofyone

Ohhh sexy girlfriend
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a second-year student and very interested in surgery.

Alas, I'm not sure if I have the physical traits to be successful.

I did some work on cadavers (tissue retrieval) in ORs before I started med school and at times I found it hard to hold my hands perfectly still to do procurement, especially after a little while when my back starts straining and my arms get tired from holding them up in front of me. I was okay enough to do tissue retrieval without harming it too much, but I don't know about being steady enough to sew a 2mm vessel under a microscope and do a good job.

My questions are:

1. Are there some sort of physical requirements one must have in order to be accepted into surgical residencies? Do you take a dexterity test or something like that?

2. Obviously I wouldn't even accept a spot in a surg program if I I didn't feel like I was physically able to do a great job. So any ideas on some things (specific excercises or what not) that I could do to increase my dexterity and decrease fatigue and slight tremor in my hands?

It would be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

1. There are no physical requirements. A lot of people don't find out that they are not "physically fit" for surgery until residency, this is particularly true for a surgical subspecialty like ophthalmology that requires a lot of fine hand movements. For most of surgery, I think just about anybody who doesn't have a severe disabling tremor disorder can learn to do it with enough practice (sure that there are some surgeons who would disagree with this though). If you do general surgery, there are a ton of surgeries that require minimal manual dexterity.