Advice for long-term residency roadmap as an IMG

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

skipper5

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Long time reader, but I rarely post so I apologize if this post is in the wrong section.

I am a Canadian student that will be beginning a 4-year program at an Irish med school starting this September. I am thinking about a career in a surgical specialty. I'm not 100% sure which one but my interest right now is in neurosurgery and my ECs and research experience so far reflect that. I'm trying to figure out the best course of action in terms of setting up my research, observership, ECs and other activities over the next 4 years to tailor to the field I eventually want to match to. But I want to make sure my plan is actually feasible so that I don't waste valuable experiences on a field that will be unobtainable.

I currently have done research in neurosurgery labs, have a publication, and will likely have another by the end of the summer. One of my parents is a neurosurgeon and from observing their experience, I became interested in the field. That being said, I realize that neurosurg is one of the most competitive residencies, even more so as an IMG. If neurosurgery right off the bat is not feasible, I was wondering if there is an alternative path to it - even if it means spending more time.

I have searched through the forums for people in similar situations and it appears as though for an IMG, an easy way to get your foot in the door is to do preliminary surgery internship. I read about cons about this (e.g. some programs offer you little OR experience, risk of not getting into a PGY2 position, etc), but if I want to do surgery, to me it seems like this is actually the path with the highest likelihood of success.