Advice for Good 'ole DO schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TaxiDriver

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I am a senior that needs advice on whether I have a good chance at DO schools (and which ones in particular)?

I only have a 2.8 science gpa, (osteopathic sci. gpa is only bio, chem and phys, right? extra sciences include nueroscience and physiology. best grade in science classes was B+ for all of orgo) 3.1 overall, usnews top 20 school in atlanta known for med, regular ECs like volunteer, although i did joint start a club with some friends that still needs some work.

i'm taking physics right now and i'm afraid i'll score low in that. only other science class is an upper level Bio. i'm taking the MCAT in april, diag scores looking pretty good. what do i need to have a shot at DO?

I am a resident of Kentucky.......bowling green, KY.

Any advice for me? any DO schools? Thanks a lot!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey there TaxiDriver,
It's hard to say what will get you into DO school because it is a combination of factors that determines that. But here are a few pointers to keep in mind:

1. The average GPA to get into a DO school is about a 3.3-3.4, so try to work at increasing your GPA this last year.
2. Do well on the MCAT! (I think that with a score at about a 24 can definitely get you in, but since your GPA is on the low side, getting a high MCAT would be ideal).
3. Continue with your EC's
4. Make sure you shadow a DO to learn more about osteopathic medicine. DO schools want people who know about and are interested in the philosophy.

Most importantly, DO schools choose applicants by looking at their application as a whole, so well-roundedness is the key. But you definitely have a chance if you can raise your GPA a bit and/or if you do well on the MCAT.