advice for fixing low ECs/creating a narrative?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premedbarista

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi, sorry if this is a little neurotic, i'm just really stressed out right now lol

So I'm a spring sophomore right now and I'm a bit worried because I don't really have anything done. Freshman year I was working as a barista 20-30 hours a week bc i needed money so i didn't really have much time for anything else. Right now, I only have two ECs, I have ~600 hours of research, third author on a publication, and ~150 hours volunteering at a student-run shelter for unhoused college students, going to have a leadership role in that club next year. I also did 50 hours of volunteering at a hospital, but I felt like it wasn't really meaningful as I just kinda answered the patient call lights and phone, didn't really get any valuable experience out of that and I don't know if i'll even include it on my application.

I guess my main concern is that I don't have any volunteering that I could tell a story about, shadowing, or clinical experience. I love my research and the shelter, but I feel like I just don't have anything that would make me a compelling applicant. I've been looking for a clinical experience job and applying to positions for over a year now with absolutely no luck. I don't know any doctors, have no family friends or anything that are doctors, and even asked my own doctor if I could shadow and she said no. I've been emailing places but nobody even responds. I've started an EMT class and should get certified by July, but it is likely that I'll just be doing inter-facility transport jobs as those are what are available where i am and I'm not sure if that really would give me anything to talk about on my app.