Advice for an undergraduate considering DVM?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OneLove1<3

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am an undergraduate senior considering veterinarian medicine for graduate school. I always thought this would be my future career, but I changed my mind some time along the way, and recently have come back to the idea of pursuing this dream. I have a few questions for the veterinary professionals out there!

1.) My undergraduate major is not biology or animal science. It used to be biology but I switched a couple years into my undergraduate. I am still a science major however, it is just more human based. I have completed general chemistry 1&2 with lab, physics 1&2 with lab, biology 1&2 with lab, zoology with lab, as well as several science classes that are human related. I will be coming back after graduation to take my organic chemistry courses, biochemistry, and a few upper level biology courses. My question is, do you think it will lower my chances of being accepted into vet school because I am not a biology or animal science major? I still have good knowledge of science, although it is primarily human related.

2.) Are there any reasons besides the financial strain of DVM school and loans that would make you think twice about this profession? I looked through some of the posts on this forum and I saw one where many vets said they would not choose this profession again, but it was primarily because of debt to income ratio. I understand that this is a huge factor to consider, it is one reason why I contemplated going into a different field. I am still heavily considering the struggle this would place on me. But what I would like to know is are there any veterinarians on here that would not choose this profession again for other reasons that are unrelated to the debt-income ratio?