Advice about STEP 2 CS. Failed 1st attempt, passed 2nd attempt, learn from my mistakes

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Herc87

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a US medical student. I passed my school's version of CS, and never had any issues in clinical rotations with Hx&Px's. I took the test at the Chicago site both times. My first attempt was in November 2019. My second attempt was in February 2020 (passed!!!!!!).

My biggest piece of advice is DO NOT TAKE THIS TEST LIGHTLY. Like any test, you need to study for the test. Even though CS is supposed to mimic a clinical situation there are differences. You have 15 minutes to do a complete hx and a focused physical exam, and identify a social issue and address that issue. For the note portion, you have 10 minutes to detail your findings.

I failed the ICE portion of the test the first time.
Retake-> 1 x in borderline for ICE, 3x's in borderline for CIS

The resource I used: First aid: Step 2 CS (for both attempts)

Time for study: First attempt 6 days (no rotation). 2nd attempt (1 month-I was also in a rotation).

Study plan: The first time I studied, I read through the cases and had a colleague act out about half of the standardized pt scenarios. The second time, I read through the book 3 times and had a partner act out all the cases. Also, for the second attempt, I memorized a template for the physical exam. I typed a pt note and then compared them with the book-->make sure you do this!!!!

Tips about the exam:

The cases are pretty standard M3/M4 type of cases. I didn't have any zebras, the First aid book had 90% of the cases I was tested on.