Advantages/Disadvantages of Different California DPT Programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DC000

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I’ve applied to several California schools and just received my first acceptance to CSUN. I was curious, if by chance I happen to get accepted to any of my other schools, what advantages would I have picking one over the other? I currently work as a PT Aide and my boss was telling me that if I get accepted into UCSF (I was invited to interview) that the school’s reputation could help when applying for jobs. He also assumes they have better internships but isn’t completely sure.

Can anyone give some insight to any advantages or disadvantages any of these programs have over each other or just in general? Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Schools I applied to:

SDSU

Chapman

CSULB

CSUN (Accepted)

UCSF (Invited to Interview)

Members don't see this ad.

"... school’s reputation could help when applying for jobs" - not true at all, in my experience. A PT license is like a driver's license, as long as you have one you're fine.

Go to whatever program has the lowest total cost of attendance (tuition + fees + living expenses) and a decent NPTE pass rate.

Reactions: 2 users
Hello!

I’ve applied to several California schools and just received my first acceptance to CSUN. I was curious, if by chance I happen to get accepted to any of my other schools, what advantages would I have picking one over the other? I currently work as a PT Aide and my boss was telling me that if I get accepted into UCSF (I was invited to interview) that the school’s reputation could help when applying for jobs. He also assumes they have better internships but isn’t completely sure.

Can anyone give some insight to any advantages or disadvantages any of these programs have over each other or just in general? Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!