Accept DO or reapply

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premedstudent5110

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
For people who have declined DO and reapplied to MD, can you share your story?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
name the DO school? It's probably not as scary as you think

Members don't see this ad :)
1620066051895.png

Last edited by a moderator:
  • Haha
Reactions: 18 users
I graduated from an SMP (biomedical sciences) at an allopathic school that doesn't have linkage. I didn't have the best GPA but a good trend up, coupled with a horrendous undergraduate GPA. My MCAT was alright but I knew I could do better because I had not utilized every resource like UWorld and the AAMC section bank nor did I thoroughly review my FLs. So I turned down my only DO acceptance and hunkered down to study (COVID made it easy to have no distractions). I did significantly better on the MCAT and ended up with 2 MD As, 1 WL and 3 DO As.

Although I will say this, you have to make a SIGNIFICANT change in whatever held you back to improve your chances. For me, It was the MCAT. However, this process is so random at times. My friend was rejected at our SMP school and reapplied the following cycle with the identical application and was accepted.
Can I PM you?

this really depends on your ability to improve your application.

ultimately if you have a garbage MCAT or weak GPA you are competing with people who never had to repair these things. It doesn't matter if some other guy did it or not. There are a million extenuating circumstances. Is there a high likelihood of it? anyone can go "Well if I really buckled own and take 30 postbac credits over the next three years and get all A's my GPA will go up by 0.1 and I can get in!" Everyone thinks that about themselves.

You just need to be realistic.

• Love
Reactions: 1 users