A Psychiatry residency in San Francisco (CPMC)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ZigPig

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a psychiatry resident at California Pacific Medical Center, in San Francisco. It is an awesome place to be. We are working on updating our website. We are a small program, and there are not is not a lot of information about us out there. I wanted to make sure we had a presence in this forum, and make sure people know about us. Feel free to PM me with questions.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
I was really hoping for an opportunity to interview at CPMC and meet the department, but I guess my pending Step 2 score and no California connections filtered me out. I guess the season isn't over yet!

Reactions: 1 user
I am not involved in process of filtering applicants, so I can't comment on step 2 scores or California connections. Running through my head though, most of us are not from California, and I don't think most of us have a very strong connection.

Members don't see this ad :)
I have had an awesome experience with CPMC. I am happy to be here. We have a new PD (I didn't know the old PD), who I think is making some positive changes to the program. I enjoy my colleagues. I feel like my load is light enough that I can educate myself, rather than feeling like my entire role here is service. For example, on the inpatient psych unit, interns had a cap of 3 patients last year. Now the cap is 4. I think there are some psych residencies where you would be regularly seeing 10+ as an intern, and you are just busting your butt, without any time to actually learn about a case.