A few questions for all you vets out there!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

woosiecg

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am a student finishing up pre-reqs and will be ready to apply to vet school next june. I am a certified vet tech and have worked for a few different SA clinics over the years. I love working with animals and love that I get to learn something new every day at work, but I am struggling with my decision to become a vet. I have a few questions for everyone, some are more geared towards new grads and others to anyone who wishes to answer!

1. Are you glad you chose your profession? Do you enjoy your job and if so are there any aspects you don't enjoy?

2. I know everyone always says they don't go into vet med for the money but I was wondering how many people work on salary plus commission? If you do, do you like working like this and do you encounter a lot of competition between vets in the practice for patients?

3. New grads: are you struggling to find jobs? Are you finding your salary offers are what you anticipated?

Thanks for taking the time to answer some of these questions for me!

Members don't see this ad.

1. I love my job and can't think of anything I would rather do.
I get a little annoyed with the bureaucracy of academics but I'll take that over the petty politics of private practice any day. And our coffee is really bad.

2. Straight salary.
I would love commission so when I come in at night and on weekends I would actually get paid.

3. Not a new grad, but I've never been without a job since graduating.