Position Swap 3RD YEAR PSYCH FOR 2nd or 3rd year psych

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doc424

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I am looking for a 3rd or second year psych position; I am currently a second year psych resident at Staten Island University Hospital and will be leaving at the end of June 2015 to complete my second year in psych. They are kicking me out bc I have not passed step 3 as yet. They told me this on Monday- I am preferably looking for a program that does not care about step 3 bc I want to attempt it later again after residency. Please respond if you would like to switch or if you know of any openings. I am interested in an adolescent fellowship so if there are any child fellowships open out there that do not require step 3, that would be an option as well. Thank you!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,
I am looking for a 3rd or second year psych position; I am currently a second year psych resident at Staten Island University Hospital and will be leaving at the end of June 2015 to complete my second year in psych. They are kicking me out bc I have not passed step 3 as yet. They told me this on Monday- I am preferably looking for a program that does not care about step 3 bc I want to attempt it later again after residency. Please respond if you would like to switch or if you know of any openings. I am interested in an adolescent fellowship so if there are any child fellowships open out there that do not require step 3, that would be an option as well. Thank you!!

I can almost guarantee you that there will not be any fellowship who will accept you without you being 1) Board certified in psychiatry and 2) have passed Step 3 USMLE.