36 hour car rides between clerkships

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Madura

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know I am not the only one who had to get from the west coast to the Midwest in a weekend, so I'm looking for some feedback from people who have done this. Do you recommend driving or is it worth the $1,400 more that it would cost to fly and rent a car for 2 months?

Members don't see this ad.

I drove. Most programs understand if you need to take off a day early. It's no big deal as far as I'm concerned. Students sometimes make a big deal about it, but as a resident, I completely understand. I had to take off a day or two early at more than 1 program. If you let them know in advance, it shouldn't be a big deal. Programs will cut you some slack if you are a hard worker and they don't get the impression you are just trying to skate out a few days early.

I drove. Most programs understand if you need to take off a day early. It's no big deal as far as I'm concerned. Students sometimes make a big deal about it, but as a resident, I completely understand. I had to take off a day or two early at more than 1 program. If you let them know in advance, it shouldn't be a big deal. Programs will cut you some slack if you are a hard worker and they don't get the impression you are just trying to skate out a few days early.

This was my experience as well. I had to make a few 30+ hour drives and the programs were kind enough to let me leave a day early. I told them upfront on day one and they said to just remind them when the time comes and it wouldn't be a big deal. These programs included Wheaton, Swedish, and JPS. I had no problems getting interviews/having callbacks. Like anklebreaker said, not all programs are like this so gauge each one individually and make your decisions accordingly.

Members don't see this ad :)