30s and Med School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DreamsAndDelusions

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here is the backstory -

I am 28 and planning on applying for medical school, so I'll probably be 30 when I start. I graduated with a Biochem/Bio in 2010 with the hopes of going to med school but life events got in the way. But here I am still thinking about going to med school. In my research I found out that because my undergrad degree is 6 years old, many schools will require me to re-take some/all(?) of my science classes. Are there any schools that do not have this requirement? Anyone have experience around this matter?

Members don't see this ad.

Here is the backstory -

I am 28 and planning on applying for medical school, so I'll probably be 30 when I start. I graduated with a Biochem/Bio in 2010 with the hopes of going to med school but life events got in the way. But here I am still thinking about going to med school. In my research I found out that because my undergrad degree is 6 years old, many schools will require me to re-take some/all(?) of my science classes. Are there any schools that do not have this requirement? Anyone have experience around this matter?
Not necessarily true. I know some schools (Duke comes to mind?) require prereqs to be less than 5 or 10 years old, but none of the schools I applied to or was even interested in had that requirement. However, most MD programs like to see recent grades. A few As in graduate classes should be sufficient to demonstrate that you're sill academically at the top of your game.

Here is the backstory -