~3.48/3.23 and 28P

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Waggles

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I would appreciate some wisdom on my situation. I'm currently a junior and Ohio resident. I'm debating on applying this cycle or waiting until after my senior year. Not URM, not disadvantaged. I'd prefer to stay in-state. Also, my school is on the quarter system so I would not be able to submit my application until mid to late June. I realize my gpa is pretty low and could benefit from another year of coursework. This would allow me to retake the MCAT over the summer as well.

Major: Human Nutrition

CGPA- ~3.46
BCPM- ~3.23
SGPA- ~3.39

MCAT- 9/9/10 (28P)

Here's my list of ECs

Clinical Experience-
2000+ hours as a patient transporter and radiology tech aide in a pretty large hospital. I've been able to interact with a lot patients, doctors, and other medical professionals.

Research
350+ hours I have been the lead student on a projected focused on novel approaches to childhood obesity prevention. My project includes a community cooking/nutrition education class that I teach to preschool aged children and their families. I will have 2 poster presentations at my university before this cycle, and am scheduled to present at a national meeting over the summer. I have also mentored several high school students who are interested in studying nutrition through this project.

Volunteering
-1 year of Big Brothers Big Sisters (~70 hours)
- 6 months of Habitat for Humanity (~50 hours)

Teaching
-2 Quarters of being a Physiology TA (~10 hours per week)

Shadowing
-Currently only have about 10 hours of a radiologist, but I could get more if I were to decide to apply this cycle.

Scholarships
-I'm currently a USDA multicultural scholar.

LOR
-PI from my research project
-Physiology professor that I had in class and now TA for (science)
-Nutrition Professor- simply took the class (science)