2nd residency in plastics after ENT residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ent1989

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm currently a 2nd year resident in Otolaryngology, and have been hearing about alumni of my program being very successful after doing a 2nd residency in plastics and then a fellowship in facial plastics. I'm wondering, if I did a 2nd residency in plastics after completing my residency in ENT, would I have to start from 2nd year (I.e. spend a full 5 years in the program)? Or is there any wriggle room to enter the program at a higher level? Anyone have any insight into the application and admissions process for ENTs matching into 2nd residencies in plastics?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I thought most otolaryngology residencies had a component in facial plastics with the opportunity of fellowships to further specialize in that niche.

That's correct; I'm talking about doing a second residency in "general plastics" (not just facial), to become double board certified in ENT and plastic surgery, enabling me to perform non-facial procedures as well

Members don't see this ad :)
To be double boarded you need to complete two residencies. So, you'll need to finish ENT (5 years) complete an INDEPENDENT plastics residency (3 years - beginning at an equivalent level of an integrated PGY4) and then do 1 year for facial plastics for a grand total of 9 years of training.

I know someone who did that... but I coulda sworn ENT = eyes, noses, and titties.

Reactions: 1 users
To be double boarded you need to complete two residencies. So, you'll need to finish ENT (5 years) complete an INDEPENDENT plastics residency (3 years - beginning at an equivalent level of an integrated PGY4) and then do 1 year for facial plastics for a grand total of 9 years of training.

Back in the day, they had 2 year prs fellowships. That was sweet.